D23 Governor’s Award Honouring Heide Taylor

2015HeideTaylorThe D23 Heide Taylor Honour Roll recognises and honours individual Zontians who have personified the ideals of Zonta at club level through their support and promotion of local projects and Zonta International. This award focuses on the quality of the member’s ongoing contribution to Zonta. Nominees on the Honour Roll have gone ‘above and beyond’ the expectations of membership and provided inspiration to other members through their service to Zonta and the community. See Nomination Form.

Often called “Mother Zonta” Heide (Adelheid Elisabeth Johanne Taylor) began life in East Prussia. She trained as a nurse during World War II later qualifying as a doctor. After marrying she moved to England and in 1959 migrated to Australia. Heide initially worked in an Adelaide medical laboratory before studying to re-qualify as a medical doctor in Australia in 1967. In 1968, Heide was appointed a Director of a unit at the Royal Adelaide Hospital where she successfully fought for gender equality.

In 1969 Heide became a charter member of the Zonta Club of Adelaide, the first Zonta club in South Australia and was an active club member until close to the time of her death. She held almost every position on the club’s board, and consistently provided positive support for each new President.

When the District (Australia and New Zealand) was first split into Areas, Heide served for three years as Area Director, covering the present District 23 and chartered three clubs. Heide’s contribution at an International level was exemplary and she served in various capacities on the Status of Women, Nominating and Organisation and Extension Committees. Heide is a member of the Zonta International “Hall of Fame”, having organised and sponsored more than five clubs.

To nominate someone for this award go to the D23 Awards page by clicking here.


Year Name Club
2011 Rita Fletcher Zonta Club of Noarlunga Southern Vales
Lennie McCall AM Zonta Club of Perth
Margaret Medcalf OAM Zonta Club of Perth
2012 Lois Brock OAM Zonta Club of Noarlunga Southern Vales
Marjorie Smith OAM Zonta Club of Adelaide Flinders
2013 Margaret Field Zonta Club of Perth Northern Suburbs
Sheila Watters Zonta Club of Swan Hills
Rosalind Deacon Zonta Club of Bendigo
Pat Fraser Zonta Club of Ballarat
2015 Jane Abdilla Zonta Club of Adelaide Hills
Annamarie Perlesz Zonta Club of Kyneton
Elaine Hardstaff Zonta Club of Mornington Peninsula
2017 Jenny Weaver Zonta Club of Adelaide Torrens
Val Baldwin Zonta Club of Adelaide
Wendy Atherden Zonta Club of Perth
2019 Annette Mouat Zonta Club of Bendigo
Aileen Eldridge Zonta Club of Para District
Lorraine Webb Zonta Club of Peel
2021 Judy Rothe Zonta Club of Kyneton read about Judy here
Wendy Kirby Zonta Club of Peel
Beverley Newberry Zonta Club of Adelaide